home g.i.b.a. glos ladies corinium stroud ladies south cotswold contact us

b o w l s n e w s . c o . u k

South Cotswold Bowls League

The League has decided to run a trial in 2020 with all matches to start at 18:15 and to play over 18 ends, rather than 21 as at present (plus trial ends).  This will be reviewed at the 2020 AGM.

The South Cotswold Bowls League operates over a wide geographical area, generally encompassed by Painswick, Fairford, Malmesbury and Olveston though the majority of clubs are concentrated in the Stroud area.

There are currently 16 clubs participating in the League with some entering more than one team.  In 2020, there will be 28 teams participating, organised into three divisions. Divisions 1 and 2 have eight teams who play each other on a home-away basis with Division 3 containing 12 teams who play each other only once.  Promotion/Relegation is generally on a two-up, two-down basis at the end of each season with prize money for the first three teams in each division.  Matches are played on a Tuesday evening with results being returned to the Fixture Secretary by e-mail before 18:00 on the day following the game.  Fees are currently £55 per team and prize money ranges from £255 for the winners of division 1 to £90 for third place in division 3.

The League is run by a small elected committee of

 Chairman – Martin Bevan

 Secretary/Fixtures – David Skeats

 Treasurer – Denzyl Vellacott

There is an annual AGM in October at which these league officers are elected, arrangements for the following season agreed, and presentations of prize money and trophies made.

For further information or to discuss the possibility of joining the league, please use the e-mail address below (no automatic link to cut-back on spam)


South Cotswold Bowls League Rules (Updated Oct 2018)

South Cotswold Bowls League GDPR Policy 2018